Home Nursing and House Training

I am really getting into the swing of this home nursing thing now, have the medication, pillow arrangements, mealtimes, pee bottles and bed baths waxed. OH is feeling a little stronger and although he is not allowed out of bed he can move himself around on the bed with a lot more ease.

To get to the loo he uses an office chair on wheels and I wheel him into the bathroom and he is able to transfer himself to the toilet. To do this however he has to don his “moonboots” which he is convinced are a bad design in that he has to stop himself from falling over backwards. They have a wedge under the heel and this means he can only put his weight on his heels and not his toes. They were made in China and at first we thought that we had been given two left ones, but later worked out that the “L” was for Large.  Both fasten to the same side unlike normal shoes which fasten to the outside.

I must admit to feeling incredibly tired. It seems like I am constantly running from one job to another, between OH and Milo and the office, meals, tea and coffee for visitors I can hardly find 30 minutes to myself. Yesterday we had early visitors so the day started off at a real rush. They were in town for a wedding and had to drive back to their farm but still stayed until almost lunch time. The visit did OH a lot of good because he is very fond of this young lady and her husband. She has adopted OH as her Dad since her own father died suddenly in March this year and they have a very special relationship which fills a gap in both their lives. She needs a Dad and OH needs a daughter since his own will have nothing to do with us.

It’s very cold again here in Cape Town and both dogs are huddled next to the heater under my desk. Milo just loves warmth; the quickest way to get him to calm down from manic mode is to offer him heat. House training is going quite well although rainy weather does not help as he dislikes wet surfaces.  I have being doing some obedience training with him and he now knows that I have treats in my pockets so he comes very promptly when called and he definitely knows his name now.

Hope you bloggers all have a good week; I need to go and check in on my patient!

13 thoughts on “Home Nursing and House Training

  1. I bet OH is enjoying being under the covers what with all this bad weather we’re having. Right now my fingers and toes are hovering around the frost-bite stage!

  2. Oh I know how it is. My mother had a fall last year and she has been almost bedridden since. We have a full time home nurse to look after her , but there were times when we couldn’t engage a suitable nurse from the agency. My sis and I filled in. Initially she couldn’t even use a bed pan fro several months.She’s seventy plus you see and had broken the upper end of her femur bone. The operation had gone off well and she did heal quickly , but she is scared to walk . Man!!! We should never take our health for granted. She has always been a very independent woman and did all the cooking herself. Being confined really upped her irritation levels. I guess sometimes we find it difficult to accept the fact of being dependent on someone. I hope OH gets well soon and I hope you’re able to rest yourself in between. Hugs:-)

    • The thought of being completely dependent on others for every basic need fills me with dread so I think I would be pretty irritable too in that situation. You are so right about not taking our health for granted, a few in our age group have had wake-up calls lately.

  3. I used a moonboot some years ago when I badly sprained an ankle. It looked ugly, but served its purpose for me.
    Do we have to call you Nurse Nightingale now 😉
    Once again we’re only having a spit and a spot on the KZN coast.

    • Yes, they are ugly but on both feet they seem to unbalance OH more than they protect the toes. BTW, you can call me Matron, no point in being a nurse when the posts above you are vacant 😉

  4. You sound as though you’re doing really well, but you’ll definitely need a nice holiday holiday when it’s all over. My grandson had to wear a moon boot for a few months and he wasn’t impressed either. Have a good week if that’s possible. xx

    • Yes I am coping OK but I’m really, really tired. This is not helped by my back which is playing up again I am in constant pain when moving around.

      • Sorry to hear that, optie Back pain is dreadful. I just notice I gave you a double holiday in my last comment. You sound as though you need it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

