Dreams, idiots and near misses

Here we are – Friday again with the promise of a warm weekend, if not summery weekend ahead.

I plan to visit the garden centre tomorrow for some inspiration and on Sunday when our gardener comes I will work alongside him for the first time in months. The garden is inundated with hairy caterpillars and snails. Far too much shade caused by neighbour’s overgrown shrubs that are now double the height of their roof.  This is something I want to address with him as I’d like to offer that the gardener under my supervision reduces the height by at least half to give my lawn a chance of producing more than just winter grass and weeds.

Yesterday I was on my way to collect OH from work when an idiot jumped in front of my car. Yes I mean an idiot/a-hole and I did mean jumped.  He was on the sidewalk and I saw him look at me and the next thing he jumps into the road right in front of me.  Fortunately for him and me my new car has wonderful brakes otherwise he would not have escaped without injury. When I came to a stop he was right in the middle of my car and I think we did make some form of contact he was so close.

When I arrived to collect OH I asked him to check the front of the car for damage but fortunately there was none.  I was completely shaken up by the experience. It is the first time in decades of driving that I have come so close to actually knocking someone over.

So here’s a question for fellow bloggers: Do you ever dream about something and then weeks later dream about the thing you dreamt about before actually happening and recognise in your dream that you dreamt about it before?

If that’s too complicated here’s an example in point form:

  1. I dream that a function that I arrange annually turns into a total disaster when the guest of honour is late and there are far too many no-shows.
  2. I dream a few weeks later that I am at the function and everything is going wrong, not only are there no-shows but people are getting up to leave after only half an hour. I remember in my dream that I dreamt that this would happen.

On the subject of dreams I often dream repeatedly about the same non-existent (in real life) places. I often dream I am at boarding school (I never ever went to boarding school). Some dreams are so involved and detailed that it’s hard to accept that it was a dream and not reality.

I would be interested to know if others dream as much as I do (every night’s an adventure) and if they remember as much detail afterwards.  Sometimes the detail is not there when I wake up but comes to me during the course of the day.

Have a great weekend blogfriends.

12 thoughts on “Dreams, idiots and near misses

  1. I see you have the same hairy caterpillar problem we have.I will put the photo`s on my next blog. As for the dreaming I think it`s quite common, my Wife is better at it as she remember all her dreams. The night before my Father died I dreamed that I saw him being lifted by two Angels, the hospital said he would be OK. When I told my sister she was horrified and thought I was just making it up, he died at lunch time. Premonitions are a common thing in life and we very often go to strange places and know where the important shops and facilities are.

  2. That near miss must have been very scary, optie. To have hit him, would have been a nightmare, not a dream. I often dream about the same place, which seems to be a combination of all places I’ve lived in, and involves many of the people who have passed through my life. Weird dreams. Have a great weekend, and I hope your gardening plans work out. Hairy caterpillars……… Yikes!! 🙂

    • Yes it did shake me up AD. I am fascinated by what goes on in my brain while I am asleep and would love to be able to interpret my dreams – maybe there are some lessons for real life !

      Must confess to snipping hairy caterpillars and worms in half with a pair of scissors and pulling of snails and stomping on them. Left unchecked they can strip a plant of all it’s foliage in just a couple of nights.

  3. Garden centre – do avoid the common mistake of being attracted by plants, and then having to figure out where to put them. What I always recommend as a Garden Judge is to look at places in the garden which need filling in, decide roughly what forms/shapes/sizes would be ideal, and then go specifically looking for something to suit. Basic rule is to have taller plants grouped at the back, progressively reducing in size to one’s low border types at the front edges of beds.
    Dreams – I think I have lively ones, but hardly ever remember them for more than a couple of minutes after waking.

    • Thanks for the advice Col, I am basically looking for ground cover fillers, the garden is pretty well established and I go for what survives with as little water as possible because our summer water bills are horrendous. I do enjoy wandering around the nursery and looking at what is new and blooming even if I don’t buy anything.

      • Pity some of the hardiest ones like Wedelia are so hardy and tenacious they have become verboten. Mondo is a good standby.
        Grouping, and repeating themes, is worth keeping in mind when filling in,

  4. I do a lot of dreaming. I understand about the 1st and then 2nd dream. I do the same, but I’ve been wondering though if its just one dream, but in that dream I dream that I dreamt I’d been there and done that before….shew! hope you can figure out what I mean here but have no other way of explaining the dream.
    Enjoy the gardening optie 🙂
    *hugs*

Leave a Reply

