A bit of this and a lot of that …

Hello Blogpeeps

I have been unable to blog for a while due to too many other things taking up my blogging time (like work) but I have tried to keep up and read the blogs I follow, but I am sure I have missed a few.

Other things that have taken up my time are organising a 65th birthday/retirement celebration for OH, booking a 4 night cruise for the week after he retires to get him in the spirit of being retired, attending a 60th birthday/retirement celebration of a good friend, supervising the cutting down of neighbour’s trees that were blocking out all light and sun in our garden (with their permission, of course), taking Milo for his rabies shot, going to the theatre to see Caberet, and the normal day-to-day stuff of running a home.

We did the neighbour’s trees on Sunday morning beginning just after they left for church. It was a massive job and could not have been undertaken without our trusty gardener who managed to remove all the cutting to our side of the wall before they returned.  Had they seen how much we had cut they would probably have had a heart attack.  This was years and years of neglect on their side (they are elderly and not really interested in gardening) and the gardener they employ is more of a charity case than a gardener. We were very careful to cut so that there is no disfigurement on their side but plenty of light and sun now coming through to our garden.  I noticed yesterday that our potato bush that had just been bare stems on their side is already pushing out green shoots – isn’t nature wonderful!  The gardener is coming back on Saturday to tackle our pussy willow and one of the neighbour’s trees at the back and to plant some grass plugs where the lawn was taken over by shade loving weeds.

My airplants are in full bloom and looking stunning – here is a small selection:

Image

OH is still in quite a lot of pain and can’t really walk for very long without his feet swelling up and becoming very uncomfortable but every day there is a little improvement.

This coming Sunday our daughter from whom we have been estranged for nearly four years is visiting with her baby and partner. She has agreed to come for a braai which means she is not planning to be just in and out. We are so looking forward to meeting our granddaughter for the first time and hoping and praying that this visit represents a change of heart on her side.  From our side we will welcome them as if nothing has happened and when I see that she has relaxed I will ask her if she will remain in contact and allow us to be part of our granddaughter’s life.

What I have learnt over this four year period is that I am stronger than I thought, the thing that I believed I could not survive I survived. Life did eventually become worth living again and this strength has helped me to forgive her and will help me if Sunday does not go well.

15 thoughts on “A bit of this and a lot of that …

  1. You certainly have your time cut out!
    I hope everything goes swimmingly on Sunday. If there is provocation, simply don’t rise to it. I imagine it will be a good time for saying little and listening a lot.
    The plants are attractive even without their blooms.

  2. Wow, you’ve been very busy, optie. Your air plants are stunning, and I’m so glad the neighbours eventually agreed to the “Let there be light” plea from you. 🙂 How wonderful that you’ll be meeting your little granddaughter at last. I got the goosies when I read your news. Hope it will be the start of something good for all of you. You certainly have the right attitude, and I’m sure all will go well. Hugs

  3. I am happy to read your good news and your approach to the visit. I am still waiting for the municipality to come and trim a tree that is on their property, but blocks out sunlight to some of our flats, too. Their excuse is that the “cherry picker” is in for repairs (for more than 6 months now)

    • Their beauty is so fleeting, most of the year they are uninteresting and then they suddenly burst forth with bright coloured blooms. I started off with just a few that my MIL gave me years ago and as they grow and get bigger the wind blows them down and instead of one plant you now have two or three. It’s amazing how they have multiplied over the years with no TLC from me at all.

Leave a Reply

