Are food manufacturers making an ass out of us?

So now donkey, goat, “water buffalo” and soya have been found in processed meat products in South Africa according to News 24 today.

“Cape Town – There’s a fair share of fraudulent meat products on the South African market, according to a new study by meat scientists from Stellenbosch University.

The study found that anything from soya, donkey, goat and water buffalo were to be found in up to 68% of the 139 minced meats, burger patties, deli meats, sausages and dried meats that were tested. In other cases, even undeclared plant matter was detected.”

funny-jackass-donkey-grinning-ass-goofy-animal-picture

What do bloggers think about this?  Personally I give processed meat a wide berth unless it comes from a reliable source. I generally don’t trust sausages, polonies or what I spotted at Pick n Pay the other week “Mince Mix” which had a list of ingredients longer than I had time to read.

Frozen “Beef” burger patties usually taste disgusting and I prefer to make my own, but should I now buy the meat whole and mince it myself like my mother used to do to ensure that I am not getting any unwanted additives?

We stopped eating polony type meats years ago when I learnt about the dangers of all the chemical additives needed to preserve the minced meat ingredients.

I know some people think meat is meat but if you paying for beef it is beef and only beef you should get. I don’t have a problem if people want to eat horse, donkey or goat provided they know what they are eating and the product is labelled correctly.

I have always been very suspicious of minced chicken because chicken goes off so quickly and any frozen minced chicken product that has had its cold chain compromised is a danger as far as I am concerned.

I have eaten goat stew and quite enjoyed it; it is after all an animal farmed for its milk and meat. But I won’t eat horse, dog, cat, rabbit, crocodile and don’t like venison or ostrich and I certainly would not like to find out that I have eaten it without knowing.

Then there are the rib burger patties – do people really fall for that nonsense?  Do the general public have any clue what is added to these reconstituted meat products to bind them? Pink slime Jamie Oliver called it, obtained from putting the butchered carcass in some type of centrifuge to spin off any remaining flesh sticking to the bones with some sort of glue added. The very thought of it is enough to turn me into a vegetarian!

We don’t eat any processed foods, except for bacon, which at least is still identifiable although supposedly not that good for you, but we only have it about once every two weeks.

I realise that many of these foods may appear to be cheap, although I don’t think that they are as cheap here in South Africa as they are in the UK.

Will this revelation change your shopping and eating habits?

9 thoughts on “Are food manufacturers making an ass out of us?

  1. Has anyone checked for human DNA yet ? If it`s not there now it may very soon. There was a program on TV the other night that showed how easy it was to get rid of a dead body by taking it to a butcher friend. 🙂

  2. Quite a hornet’s nest there especially in Europe. I also eat as little as I can in the way of processed meats. I suspect a number of people might become vegetarians after hearing all these tales.

    • I doubt there would be a sustained swing to vegetarianism as these processed foods appeal to lazy people and being lazy people I think they will soon revert back to whatever is easiest.

Leave a Reply

