Optie went AWOL

Sometimes in life, you find a special friend

No, I have not disappeared off the face of the earth, nor have I been taking a deliberate break from blogging, nor have I been lurking without posting or commenting but I have been AWOL for far too long.

Four weeks ago we went to our holiday home for a two week break. I tried to keep up with the blogs there but as I am dependent on my mobile network for the internet  I had to restrict myself to essential emails that were mostly work related while there. 

Back home two weeks later we had a hectic week catching up and preparing for old and very special friends to arrive from overseas. Earlier today after another hectic but very enjoyable and special week I said a tearful goodbye to them and their gorgeous 16 year daughter who we last saw when she was just 6 years old and we visited them.

Friendships like ours don’t come around very often in a lifetime and from the moment they arrived we talked non-stop. Over the years we have shared each other’s happy and celebratory times as well as the more difficult and painful periods that life throws at one. Maybe it’s because of what we have shared that it is so easy to pick up where we left off when we see each other again.

I arranged a larger reunion of friends who all attended the same church at a local restaurant last evening as another good friend is also in town, some had not seen each other for 16 years, some see each other fairly regularly but everyone had a great time. The poor waitresses must have been tearing their hair out because it was like a giant game of musical chairs as people moved about to catch up with each other.

OH and I are tired but so grateful that we have had to opportunity to spend quality time with very dear friends again. Today is our 38th wedding anniversary and we are going to treat ourselves with an early supper at our favourite sushi restaurant and then crash.

10 thoughts on “Optie went AWOL

  1. A used car with some of the features not functioning is bound to shoo away the buyers or
    will bring in very little. An experience will really make the difference as a gift.
    Of course not all second hand cars are a complete disaster from the outset and many last the buyers for several years.

  2. I’ve been absent for some time, but now I remember why I used
    to love this website.

    Thanks , I will try and check back more often.
    How frequently you update your web

    site?

Leave a Reply

