Belated New Year Wishes

Happy New Year to all, I hope that this year everyone’s circumstances will improve in some way and make life more fun/pleasant/bearable – pick whichever one applies to you.

011

Ozzy & Milo sharing a cool spot to enjoy a chew treat.

Apologies for the long absence from the blogs but this time my data signal via my smart phone’s hotspot at our holiday home was truly pathetic – No 3G, only very, very slow Edge and that kept me busy so long that it was frustrating to do anything on the computer except that which was absolutely essential.

Apart from connectivity problems we had a lovely break, three weeks of glorious weather followed by a few days of heavy rain, mini flood and then lots of mud!

025

An unusual but delightful sight in our neck of the woods.

016

Then came the rain and the flood, huge branches/trees and rafts of branches and reeds rushed past the house.

022

Our walkway and fixed portion of the jetty is totally underwater, just the floating bit remains like an island.

029

Once the water receded OH had to clean inches of mud off the jetty.

We had three groups of family and friends to stay at various times and enjoyed catching up and celebrating with them but we also enjoyed the few days between visits when it was just OH and I and the dogs.

040Milo in laid back holiday mode.

Back home our garden survived the month’s neglect rather well except for a pergola beam that appears to be rotten and cracked under the weight of the bougainvillea on our front patio. OH’s jobs are already being lined up.

056

We had so hoped to visit our daughter and granddaughter in the UK this year but with the Rand at new lows and an election looming we have decided to delay any firm plans until later in the year.

I am dying to visit all your blogs and catch up but first I must bring the office up to date and get some year planning done.

42 thoughts on “Belated New Year Wishes

  1. I feel this is among the such a lot vital information for me.
    And i’m satisfied reading your article. But should remark on
    few normal issues, The site style is great, the articles is in
    reality great : D. Just right activity, cheers

  2. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before but after browsing
    through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking
    it and checking back regularly!

  3. Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and I
    was curious about your situation; many of us have developed some nice practices
    and we are looking to exchange methods with others, be sure to shoot me an email if interested.

  4. Aw, this wass an incredibly good post. Fineing the time and
    actual effort to create a top notch article… but what can I say… I procrastinate
    a lot and don’t seem to get nearly anything done.

  5. Very good blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start
    my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or
    go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused ..
    Any tips? Thanks a lot!

  6. What’s up everyone, it’s my first visit at this site, and post
    is truly fruitful for me, kerp up posting these types of articles or reviews.

  7. It increases the blood flow to the scalp and the hair follicles beneath it.
    Though this oil is rich in saturated fats, it is still ideal for cooking.
    Coconut oil extract benefits our health in many
    ways.

  8. Hiya! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?
    My website goes over a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you’re interested feel free to shoot me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

  9. Aw, this was an extremely ood post. Finding the time
    and actual efforft to generate a shperb article… but what can I
    say… I procrastinate a lot and never manage to get nearly anything done.

  10. Have yyou ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog based on the same information you discuss and would
    really lke tto have you share some stories/information. I
    knoww my visitors would appreciate your work.
    If you’re evn remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e mail.

  11. Please let me know iif you’re looking for a writer for your site.

    You have some really good articles and I feel I would bee a good asset.
    If yoou ever want to take some of thhe load off,
    I’d lovve to write some artiles for your blog in exchange
    for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested.
    Thanhk you!

  12. Happy New Year to you. Looks like you had a lovely break, in spite of the rain. OH certainly had his job cut out, removing all that mud! Milo is so cute, and he and Ozzy really look like best friends. Cute pics! 🙂

  13. Seasons of Compliments and all that …
    If you think that’s soggy, try UK where daughter & Co, are, They are thinking of trading in the horses for dolphins.
    Utterly delightful spot, that holiday home! Garden looks none too shabby after a month of doing its own thing.
    Oz & Milo seem in fine fettle.

    • Thanks for the visit Col, yes those poor folk in the UK have really had it rough this winter, our holiday house was submerged in the November 2008 flood so I have loads of sympathy for them, it takes ages to clean up and get back to normal after a flood and some of them were hit twice in a matter of weeks.

    • Happy New Year to you to Cocoa, Milo is a very happy little dog and a total delight to us and our friends. Planning is definitely on hold for the time being unfortunately 😦

    • Hi there footsy, hope you are getting some sunshine in Spain. We were thinking more of visiting in Aug/Sept but the exchange rate is nearly double what it was when we visited in 2011.

Leave a Reply

